Home University News 10 best ranked universities in Nigeria

10 best ranked universities in Nigeria

by InfoExpress
0 comment

A university is an educational institute for learning and Research. It consists of Programs such as B. Sc, M. Sc, Ph. D, Distance learning (Diploma), Special learning and so on.

Below are the 10 best ranked universities in Nigeria

1. University of Ibadan: Popularly known as UI was founded in 1948 and located in Ibadan city, Oyo state, Nigeria. UI started with three faculties which are the Arts, Sciences and Medicine. Recently alot of faculties have been founded which are the Education, Computer Science, Law, Psychology, Clinical and Pre-Clinical health, Life sciences, Business and Economics, Physics and Material Science, Engineering and technology, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences. UI consists of B. Sc , M. Sc, P.HD and Diploma (Distance learning centre) M.Sc and PHd of UI is also ranked as one of the best in Sub-Sahara in Africa. It also have a teaching Hospital ranked as the 4th teaching hospital in west Africa. Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Kayode Adebowale.

2.University of Nigeria Nsukka: Popularly known as UNN was established in 1955 by Late Nnamdi Azikiwe. The university was formarly called University of Biafra before it was renamed. UNN is a university with 15 faculties, 102 academic departments, offers 82 undergraduate program and 211 post graduate program. It has 3 libraries which are Azikiwe Library, University main library and also the Medical library located at the University teaching Hospital. Programs offered are the B.Sc, M.Sc, Ph.D, and Diploma courses (DLC). Their current Vice chancellor is Prof. Charles Arizechukwu Igwe.

3. University of Lagos: Also known as Unilag was founded in 1962 and located in Lagos state. It has 12 faculties which are (Arts, Basic Medical Science, Business Administration, Clinical Science, Dental Science, Education, Engineering, Environmental science, Law, Pharmacy, Science and Social Science) and 62 departments in total. Current Vice chancellor is Prof. Oluwatoyin T. Ogundipe.

4. Obafemi Awolowo University: Popularly known as OAU was established in 1962, Located in the aceint city Ile-Ife, Osun State. It has 13 faculties, 101 academic departments, Two colleges (Post graduate college and Health Science college). It also have a Teaching Hospital OAUTHC. Current Vice chancellor is Professor Eyitope Ogungbenro Ogunbodede.

5. Convenant University: Also known as CU is a Private Christian University affiliated with Living Faith church. It was founded in Oct 2002 in Ota Ogun State. It has four colleges namely: College of Business and Social Science (CBSS), College of Leadership Development studies(CLDS), College of Engineering (CoE) and College of Science and Technology (CST). Current Vice chancellor is Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo.


6. Ahmadu Bello University: ABU Zaria is located in Zaria, Kaduna State. It is a Federal Government Research University founded in Oct. 4 1962. It consists of 13 faculties, 12 research institutes and 82 academic departments. It has two campuses: Main campus (Samaru)and the Mini Campus (Kongo). Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Kabir Bala.

7. Federal University of Technology Minna: FUTMINNA was founded in Feb 1983 and located in Minna Bida, Niger State. It is a technology Research University and also have 49 departments. It consists of two Campuses: The main campus (Gidan Kwano) and the Mini Campus ( Bosso Campus).Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Abdullahi Bala.

8. University of Ilorin: Unilorin was founded in 1975 and located in Ilorin, Kwara State. It has 15 faculties, 96 academic departments and over 500 academic staffs. It also have a Teaching Hospital (UITH) founded in 2nd May 1980. Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Sulayman Age Abdul-Kareem.


9. University of Benin: Popularly known as Uniben was founded in 1970 and located in Benin, Edo State. It has 10 faculties, 132 academic departments and a Teaching Hospital established in 1973. Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Lilian Imuetinyan Salami.

  • 10. University of Abuja: Also known as UniAbuja was founded in January 1988 and located in the Federal City of Abuja. It has 11 faculties and 45 academic departments. It consists of two Campuses; the main one located at KM 23, Airport Giri Road, FCT Abuja and the Mini Campus located at Gwagwalada area, Abuja. Their current Vice chancellor is Professor Abdul-Rasheed Na’Allah.

You may also like

Leave a Comment